Search Committee Members

The Presidential Search Committee includes two subcommittees working in tandem: a selection subcommittee and an advisory subcommittee.

Presidential Selection Subcommittee

The Presidential Selection Subcommittee (PSS) was composed of trustees who also served as chairs or vice chairs of the board’s regular committee structure: Lewis Von Thaer (chair), Alex R. Fischer, Hiroyuki Fujita, Erin P. Hoeflinger, Brent R. Porteus, Abigail S. Wexner and John W. Zeiger. The PSS worked in concert with the University Advisory Subcommittee, managed the use of external search firm Isaacson, Miller and ultimately provided a candidate recommendation to the board.


University Advisory Subcommittee

The 20-member University Advisory Subcommittee was composed of students, faculty, staff and community stakeholders. It was tasked with representing and seeking input from the broader Ohio State community in order to identify the qualities, skills, attributes and experiences desired in a candidate.

Susan Olesik, professor of chemistry and biochemistry and faculty representative on the board’s Academic Affairs, Student Life and Research Committee, and David Frantz, faculty emeritus in the Department of English, served as co-chairs. Additional members of the University Advisory Subcommittee included:

  • Juan Alfonzo, Distinguished Professor, Department of Microbiology
  • Anil Arya, Associate Dean, Faculty and Research and Professor, Department of Accounting and Management Information Systems, Fisher College of Business
  • Catherine Baumgardner, Chair, Ohio State Alumni Association Board of Directors
  • TJ Beavers, Chief of Staff, Inter-Professional Council
  • Michael Coleman, Former Mayor, City of Columbus
  • Ben Duwve, Senior Director of Allocations, Undergraduate Student Government
  • Michael Eicher, Senior Vice President, Office of Advancement; President, The Ohio State University Foundation
  • Lisa Florman, Chair, Department of History of Art
  • Donna Ford, Distinguished Professor, Department of Educational Studies
  • Joseph Heremans, Member, University Research Committee; Professor, Department of Physics and Department of Materials Science and Engineering; Ohio Eminent Scholar, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
  • Andrew Jordan, Chair, University Staff Advisory Committee; Manager of Strategy and Organizational Effectiveness, Department of Recreational Sports, Office of Student Life
  • Clark Kellogg, Former Trustee, The Ohio State University
  • Peter Mohler, Vice Dean for Research, College of Medicine; Director, Dorothy M. Davis Heart and Lung Research Institute
  • Devin Peterson, Distinguished Professor, Department of Food Science and Technology
  • Stephen Post, President, Council of Graduate Students
  • Sharon Schweikhart, Chair, Faculty Council; Associate Professor and Vice Chair, Health Services Management and Policy, College of Public Health
  • Gene Smith, Senior Vice President and Wolfe Foundation Endowed Athletics Director
  • Karla Zadnik, Executive Dean for Health Sciences; Dean, College of Optometry

If you have questions about access or wish to request accommodations for any of the materials or events related to the presidential search, please contact the Board Office at or 614-292-6359.

For media inquiries, contact Ben Johnson | 614-292-9681