WEDNESDAY, May 17, 2023 TALENT, COMPENSATION & GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE MEETING

John W. Zeiger, chair Elizabeth P. Kessler, vice chair Gary R. Heminger Lewis Von Thaer Jeff M.S. Kaplan Tom B. Mitevski Hiroyuki Fujita (<i>ex officio</i>)	
Location: Sanders Grand Lounge, Longaberger Alumni House 2200 Olentangy River Rd, Columbus, Ohio 43210	Time: 8:00am-11:00am
Executive Session	8:00-10:45am
Public Session	
ITEMS FOR DISCUSSION	
1. Report on Departing Trustees and Election of Officers – Mr. John Zeiger	10:45-10:50am
ITEMS FOR ACTION	
2. Approval of February 2023 Committee Meeting Minutes – Mr. John Zeiger	10:50-11:00am
3. Approval of Personnel Actions – Ms. Katie Hall	
	/



The Ohio State University

210 Bricker Hall 190 North Oval Mall Columbus, OH 43210-1388

> Phone (614) 292-6359 Fax (614) 292-5903 trustees.osu.edu

SUMMARY OF ACTIONS TAKEN

February 14, 2023 – Talent, Compensation & Governance Committee Meeting

Members Present:

John W. Zeiger Elizabeth P. Kessler Alexander R. Fischer Jeff M.S. Kaplan Tom B. Mitevski Hiroyuki Fujita *(ex officio)*

Members Present via Zoom:

Gary R. Heminger (joined 10:00 a.m.)

Members Absent:

Abigail S. Wexner Lewis Von Thaer

PUBLIC SESSION

The Talent, Compensation & Governance Committee of The Ohio State University Board of Trustees convened on Tuesday, February 14, 2023, in person at Longaberger Alumni House on the Columbus campus. Committee Chair John Zeiger called the meeting to order 9:27 a.m.

PUBLIC SESSION

Items for Discussion

1. <u>Annual Trustee Ethics Training</u>: Mr. Gates Garrity-Rokous, Vice President and Chief Compliance Officer, and Ms. Jessica Tobias, Ethics Director and Compliance Investigator, led the committee in a discussion of ethics and conflicts of interest – an annual requirement for all trustees.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

It was moved by Mr. Zeiger and seconded by Mr. Kaplan that the committee recess into executive session to discuss business-sensitive trade secrets required to be kept confidential by federal and state statutes, to discuss personnel matters regarding the appointment, employment and compensation of public employees, and to consult with legal counsel regarding pending or imminent litigation.

A roll call vote was taken, and the committee voted to move into executive session with the following members present and voting: Mr. Zeiger, Ms. Kessler, Mr. Fischer, Mr. Kaplan, Mr. Mitevski and Dr. Fujita. Mr. Heminger was not present for this vote.

The committee entered executive session at 9:46 a.m. and reconvened in public session at 12:09 p.m.

PUBLIC SESSION

Items for Discussion

2. <u>Undergraduate Student Trustee Search Update:</u> Mr. Tanner Hunt provided the committee with an update on the selection process for our next undergraduate student trustee. He shared that 16 applications were submitted and will be reviewed by the selection committee.



Items for Action

- 3. <u>Approval of Minutes</u>: No changes were requested to the November 15, 2022, meeting minutes; therefore, a formal vote was not required, and the minutes were considered approved.
- 4. Resolution No. 2023-77, Personnel Actions

BE IT RESOLVED, That the Board of Trustees hereby approves the personnel actions as recorded in the personnel budget records of the university since the November 17, 2022, meeting of the Board, including the following appointments and contract amendments:

New Hire

Name:	John Warner
Title:	Executive Vice President and CEO
Unit:	Wexner Medical Center
Date:	April 1, 2023

Appointment Extension

Name:	Trevor Brown
Title:	Dean and Sr. Advisor
Unit:	Office of Academic Affairs
Term:	January 1, 2023 – December 31, 2023
Name:	Karla Zadnik
Title:	Dean, College of Optometry
Unit:	Office of Academic Affairs
Term:	June 1, 2014 – June 30, 2025

Compensation Adjustment

Name:	Mike Papadakis
Title:	SVP and Chief Financial Officer
Unit:	Office of Business and Finance
Date:	December 1, 2022

Interim Appointment

Name:	Peter Mohler
Title:	Interim EVP for Research, Innovation and Knowledge
Unit:	Office of the President
Date:	March 1, 2023

5. Resolution No. 2023-78, Ratification of Committee Appointments

BE IT RESOLVED, That the Board of Trustees hereby approves that the ratification of committee appointments for Fiscal Year 2023-2024 are as follows:

Academic Affairs & Student Life:

Jeff M.S. Kaplan, Chair Elizabeth A. Harsh, Vice Chair Abigail S. Wexner Elizabeth P. Kessler Reginald A. Wilkinson Michael Kiggin **PIERRE BIGBY** Taylor Schwein Susan E. Cole (faculty member) Hiroyuki Fujita (ex officio)

Finance & Investment:

Tom B. Mitevski, Chair James D. Klingbeil, Vice Chair John W. Zeiger Gary R. Heminger Lewis Von Thaer Michael Kiggin **PIERRE BIGBY** Tanner R. Hunt

Amy Chronis Kent M. Stahl Hiroyuki Fujita (ex officio)

Legal, Audit, Risk & Compliance:

Elizabeth P. Kessler, Chair Michael Kiggin, Vice Chair Alan A. Stockmeister Jeff M.S. Kaplan Elizabeth A. Harsh **JUAN JOSE PEREZ** Taylor Schwein Amy Chronis Hiroyuki Fujita (ex officio)

Master Planning & Facilities:

Alexander R. Fischer, Chair Alan A. Stockmeister, Vice Chair Elizabeth A. Harsh Reginald A. Wilkinson **PIERRE BIGBY** Taylor Schwein James D. Klingbeil Robert H. Schottenstein Hiroyuki Fujita (ex officio)

Research, Innovation & Strategic Partnerships:

Lewis Von Thaer, Chair Reginald A. Wilkinson, Vice Chair Alexander R. Fischer **JUAN JOSE PEREZ** Tanner R. Hunt Phillip Popovich (faculty member) Hiroyuki Fujita (ex officio) Talent, Compensation & Governance:

John W. Zeiger, Chair Elizabeth P. Kessler, Vice Chair Abigail S. Wexner Alexander R. Fischer Gary R. Heminger Lewis Von Thaer Jeff M.S. Kaplan Tom B. Mitevski Hiroyuki Fujita (ex officio)

Wexner Medical Center:

Leslie H. Wexner, Chair Abigail S. Wexner Alan A. Stockmeister John W. Zeiger Gary R. Heminger Tom B. Mitevski Tanner R. Hunt Stephen D. Steinour Robert H. Schottenstein W.G. Jurgensen **Cindy Hilsheimer** Amy Chronis Hiroyuki Fujita (ex officio, voting) Kristina M. Johnson (ex officio, voting) Melissa L. Gilliam (ex officio, voting) Michael Papadakis (ex officio, voting) Jay Anderson / Andrew Thomas (ex officio, voting)

Action: Upon the motion of Mr. Zeiger, seconded by Mr. Kaplan, the foregoing resolutions were adopted by unanimous voice vote with the following members present and voting: Mr. Zeiger, Ms. Kessler, Mr. Fischer, Mr. Kaplan, Mr. Mitevski and Dr. Fujita. Mr. Heminger was not present for this vote.

The committee adjourned at 12:15 p.m.

PERSONNEL ACTIONS

BE IT RESOLVED, That the Board of Trustees hereby approves the personnel actions as recorded in the personnel budget records of the university since the February 14, 2023, meeting of the Board, including the following appointments and contract amendments:

New Hire

Name:	Karen Rose
Title:	Dean, College of Nursing
Unit:	Office of Academic Affairs
Term:	July 1, 2023

Appointment Extension

Name:	Don Pope-Davis
Title:	Dean, College of Education and Human Ecology
Unit:	Office of Academic Affairs
Term:	July 1, 2023 – June 30, 2025

Name:	Henry Mann
Title:	Dean, College of Pharmacy
Unit:	Office of Academic Affairs
Term:	July 1, 2023 – August 31, 2023

Interim Appointment

Name:	Karla Zadnik
Title:	Interim Dean, College of Public Health
Unit:	Office of Academic Affairs
Date:	July 1, 2023 – June 30, 2024

Name:	Margaret Young
Title:	Interim Dean, Lima
Unit:	Office of Academic Affairs
Date:	March 30, 2023 – June 30, 2024

Name:	Katie Hall
Title:	Interim Senior Vice President, Talent, Culture and Human Resources
Unit:	Office of the President
Date:	April 3, 2023 – March 31, 2024