THURSDAY, AUGUST 18, 2022 RESEARCH, INNOVATION & STRATEGIC PARTNERSHIPS COMMITTEE MEETING

Lewis Von Thaer, chair Reginald A. Wilkinson, vice chair Alexander R. Fischer Tanner R. Hunt Phillip Popovich Hiroyuki Fujita (ex officio)

Location: Sanders Grand Lounge, Longaberger Alumni House 2200 Olentangy River Rd, Columbus, Ohio 43210

Time: 1:00-2:30pm

Public Session

ITEMS FOR DISCUSSION

1. Committee Chair's Remarks – Mr. Lou Von Thaer 1:00-1:05pm

2. Highlights of New Research, Innovation and Knowledge Achievements – 1:05-1:15pm Dr. Grace Wang

3. Recognition and Conversation with Select Winners of the President's Buckeye 1:15-1:25pm Accelerator – Ms. Cheryl Turnbull, Mr. Adithya Ramaswami, Mr. Garrett Carder, Ms. Anjali Prabhakaran

ITEM FOR ACTION

4. Approval of May 2022 Committee Meeting Minutes – Mr. Lou Von Thaer 1:25-1:30pm

1:30-2:30pm

Executive Session





210 Bricker Hall 190 North Oval Mall Columbus, OH 43210-1388

Phillip Popovich

Phone (614) 292-6359 Fax (614) 292-5903 trustees.osu.edu

SUMMARY OF ACTIONS TAKEN

May 18, 2022 - Research, Innovation & Strategic Partnerships Committee

Members Present:

Lewis Von Thaer Reginald A. Wilkinson

Erin P. Hoeflinger Carly G. Sobol Gary R. Heminger (ex officio)

Members Present via Zoom:

Alexander R. Fischer Hiroyuki Fujita

Members Absent:

N/A

PUBLIC SESSION

The Research, Innovation & Strategic Partnerships Committee of The Ohio State University Board of Trustees convened on Wednesday, May 18, 2022, in person at Longaberger Alumni House on the Columbus campus and virtually via Zoom. Committee Chair Lewis Von Thaer called the meeting to order at 1:30 p.m.

Items for Discussion

- 1. Committee Chair's Remarks: Mr. Von Thaer recognized committee members Erin Hoeflinger and Carly Sobol and thanked them for their service as this was their last meeting prior to the conclusion of their terms as trustees. He then gave a high-level overview of achievements that had occurred at Ohio State since the last committee meeting, including the launch of two new interdisciplinary research centers the Gene Therapy Institute and the Center for Quantum Information Science and Engineering which are part of President Kristina Johnson and Dr. Grace Wang's strategy to double research expenditures over the next decade and increase societal impacts. He also shared that President Johnson and Dr. Wang had met with a special working group of the Board of Trustees in April 2022 to discuss the university's plans around research and workforce development as a result of the Intel project coming to Ohio.
- Highlights of New Research, Innovation and Knowledge Achievements: Dr. Wang, Executive Vice President for Research, Innovation and Knowledge, shared highlights related to four strategic priority areas: 1) Enable Curiosity-Driven Discoveries and Creative Expression; 2) Build Large-Scale, Interdisciplinary Research and Innovation Centers; 3) Design and Develop the Innovation District; and 4) Nurture Innovation and Entrepreneurship. One significant highlight included the second cohort of President's Research Excellence Accelerator Awards, which awarded a total of nearly \$750,000 in funding this round.

(See Attachment X for background information, page number XX)

Recognition and Conversation with Ohio State's 2022 Innovator of the Year – Dr. Melissa Bailey: Finally,
Dr. Wang highlighted the winners of Ohio State's annual Innovator of the Year Awards. These awards go
to individuals at Ohio State who are actively working to promote commercialization of university intellectual
property through invention disclosures, patents applied for and/or received, technologies licensed, or spin-



off companies formed. This year's winners were Madison Tuttle, a PhD candidate from the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry (Next Generation Innovator of the Year); Dr. Katelyn Swindle-Reilly, an assistant professor in Engineering (Early Career Innovator of the Year); and Dr. Melissa Bailey from the College of Optometry (Innovator of the Year). Dr. Bailey joined the meeting to discuss her start-up companies, which were spun off from research she had conducted at Ohio State, and her team's development of contact lenses that can function as bifocals, as well as a software application to estimate patients' prescriptions for eyeglasses and contact lenses.

(See Attachment X for background information, page number XX)

Items for Action

4. <u>Approval of Minutes</u>: No changes were requested to the February 9, 2022, meeting minutes; therefore, a formal vote was not required, and the minutes were considered approved.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

It was moved by Mr. Von Thaer, and seconded by Mrs. Hoeflinger, that the committee recess into executive session to consider business-sensitive trade secrets required to be kept confidential by federal and state statutes.

A roll call vote was taken and the committee voted to go into executive session with the following members present and voting: Mr. Von Thaer, Mrs. Hoeflinger, Mr. Fischer, Dr. Fujita, Dr. Wilkinson, Dr. Sobol, Dr. Popovich, and Mr. Heminger.

The committee entered executive session at 1:55 p.m. and the meeting adjourned at 3:04 p.m.