# WEDNESDAY, MAY 18, 2022 RESEARCH, INNOVATION & STRATEGIC PARTNERSHIPS COMMITTEE MEETING

RESEARCH, INNOVATION & STRATEGIC PARTNERSHIPS COMMITTEE MEETING			
/	Lewis Von Thaer Erin P. Hoeflinger Alexander R. Fischer Hiroyuki Fujita Reginald A. Wilkinson Carly G. Sobol Phillip Popovich Gary R. Heminger (ex officio)		
Lo	ocation: WOSU Livestream or Sanders Grand Lounge, Longaberger Alumni House	Time:	1:30-3:00pm
	Public Session ITEMS FOR DISCUSSION		
1.	Committee Chair's Remarks – Mr. Lou Von Thaer		1:30-1:35pm
2.	Highlights of New Research, Innovation and Knowledge Achievements – Dr. Grace Wang		1:35-1:45pm
3.	Recognition and Conversation with Ohio State's 2022 Innovator of the Year – Dr. Melissa Bailey		1:45-1:50pm
	ITEM FOR ACTION		
4.	Approval of February 2022 Committee Meeting Minutes – Mr. Lou Von Thaer		1:50-1:55pm
	Executive Session		1:55-3:00pm
$\setminus$			/
``			

# Melissa Bailey, OD, PhD

Ohio State's Innovator of the Year for 2022 is Melissa D. Bailey, OD, PhD, an associate professor in the College of Optometry. Bailey's research career is devoted to developing new technologies for use in eye care as well as studying the role of the ciliary muscle in the development of myopia and accommodative function in children.

Bailey was recognized for her work on two innovations she has developed at the university that have been the basis for two Ohio State startup companies: Lentechs and OcuDoc, Inc. Lentechs is developing a novel soft-contact lens that works like a pair of bifocal glasses. This technology is currently in clinical trials. OcuDoc is developing a smartphone application that can help get an estimate of a patient's vision prescription. This is helpful for children and in areas where vision services are not available.



In 2015, Bailey was selected as Ohio State's Early Career Innovator of the Year for her work in developing patented methods for measuring the ciliary muscle. She received her Doctor of Optometry and PhD in Vision Science from Ohio State. Her myopia research has been funded through the Ohio Lions Eye Research Foundation and the Ohio State University Center for Clinical and Translational Sciences as a KL2 scholar. Data for many of Dr. Bailey's research endeavors were collected in a unique research setting, thanks to a collaboration with the Center of Science and Industry (COSI).

Dr. Bailey teaches students in the optometry curriculum at Ohio State, Contact Lenses I, and graduate seminar courses.

The Innovator of the Year award recognizes Ohio State researchers who are actively working to promote commercialization of university intellectual property through invention disclosures filed, patents applied for and/or received, technologies licensed and/or spin-off companies formed.

The Ohio State University

210 Bricker Hall 190 North Oval Mall Columbus, OH 43210-1388

> Phone (614) 292-6359 Fax (614) 292-5903 trustees.osu.edu

### SUMMARY OF ACTIONS TAKEN

February 9, 2022 – Research, Innovation & Strategic Partnerships Committee

### Members Present:

Lewis Von Thaer Alexander R. Fischer Hiroyuki Fujita Reginald A. Wilkinson Carly G. Sobol Phillip Popovich Gary R. Heminger (ex officio)

#### Members Present via Zoom:

Erin P. Hoeflinger

### Members Absent:

N/A

## PUBLIC SESSION

The Research, Innovation & Strategic Partnerships Committee of The Ohio State University Board of Trustees convened on Wednesday, February 9, 2022, in person at Longaberger Alumni House on the Columbus campus and virtually via Zoom. Committee Chair Lewis Von Thaer called the meeting to order at 1:36 p.m.

#### Items for Discussion

- <u>Committee Chair's Remarks</u>: Mr. Von Thaer welcomed Dr. Phillip Popovich as the first faculty representative to serve on the RISP Committee. Dr. Popovich was selected following a comprehensive process that involved outreach to faculty and leaders across Ohio State's academic and research enterprise. Collectively, he has spent more than 30 years at Ohio State – from PhD student to Chair of the Department of Neuroscience – and he has generated more than \$50 million in research funding during his tenure. His two-year appointment will last through May 2024.
- 2. <u>Highlights of Recent Research, Innovation and Knowledge Achievements</u>: Dr. Grace Wang, Executive Vice President for Research, Innovation and Knowledge, shared highlights related to the four strategic priority areas that were established for FY2021-2022: 1) Enable Curiosity-Driven Discoveries and Creative Expression; 2) Build Large-Scale, Interdisciplinary Research and Innovation Centers; 3) Design and Develop the Innovation District; and 4) Nurture Innovation and Entrepreneurship. One highlight, in particular, was the historic announcement that the university's FY2021 total annual research and development expenditures are estimated to be \$1.236 billion. This marks the first time Ohio State has crossed the \$1 billion R&D expenditure line, which is an important milestone for the university.

(See Attachment X for background information, page number XX)



3. Launch of the President's Buckeye Accelerator and Updates on Other Student Entrepreneurial Activities: Ms. Cheryl Turnbull – who serves as the Senior Director for the Keenan Center for Entrepreneurship, which supports all 15 colleges' faculty, staff, students and alumni – gave an update on the center's efforts to support student entrepreneurial activities. The center's signature program in this area is the President's Buckeye Accelerator, which was announced by President Kristina Johnson in February 2021. This program is intended to support student founders in launching their businesses, and it will award six student teams \$50,000 to pursue their ventures over a 12-month period of time. The program generated much enthusiasm across the student body, with more than 90 students forming teams and submitting 38 applications. More than 75 percent of these students are spending more than 10 hours each week on developing their businesses.

(See Attachment X for background information, page number XX)

## Items for Action

4. <u>Approval of Minutes</u>: No changes were requested to the November 17, 2021, meeting minutes; therefore, a formal vote was not required, and the minutes were considered approved.

## EXECUTIVE SESSION

It was moved by Mr. Von Thaer, and seconded by Mr. Fischer, that the committee recess into executive session to consider business-sensitive trade secrets required to be kept confidential by federal and state statutes.

A roll call vote was taken, and the committee voted to go into executive session with the following members present and voting: Mr. Von Thaer, Mrs. Hoeflinger, Mr. Fischer, Dr. Fujita, Dr. Wilkinson, Ms. Sobol, Dr. Popovich, and Mr. Heminger.

The committee entered executive session at 2:03 p.m. and the meeting adjourned at 3:06 p.m.