WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 9, 2022 RESEARCH, INNOVATION & STRATEGIC PARTNERSHIPS COMMITTEE MEETING

Lewis Von Thaer
Erin P. Hoeflinger
Alexander R. Fischer
Hiroyuki Fujita
Reginald A. Wilkinson
Carly G. Sobol
Phillip Popovich
Gary R. Heminger (ex officio)

Location: Watch via livestream at https://livestream.com/wosu/osubotfeb2022 1:30-3:00pm

Public Session

ITEMS FOR DISCUSSION

1.	Committee Chair's Remarks – Mr. Lou Von Thaer	1:30-1:35pm
2.	Highlights of New Research, Innovation and Knowledge Achievements – Dr. Grace Wang	1:35-1:50pm
3.	Launch of the President's Buckeye Accelerator and Updates on Other Student Entrepreneurial Activities – Ms. Cheryl Turnbull	1:50-1:55pm
	ITEMS FOR ACTION	
4.	Approval of November 2021 Committee Meeting Minutes – Mr. Lou Von Thaer	1:55-2:00pm
	Executive Session	2:00-3:00pm





210 Bricker Hall 190 North Oval Mall Columbus. OH 43210-1388

> Phone (614) 292-6359 Fax (614) 292-5903 trustees.osu.edu

SUMMARY OF ACTIONS TAKEN

November 17, 2021 - Research, Innovation & Strategic Partnerships Committee

Members Present:

Lewis Von Thaer Hiroyuki Fujita Carly G. Sobol

Alexander R. Fischer Reginald A. Wilkinson Gary R. Heminger (ex officio)

Members Present via Zoom:

Erin P. Hoeflinger

Members Absent:

N/A

PUBLIC SESSION

The Research, Innovation & Strategic Partnerships Committee of The Ohio State University Board of Trustees convened on Wednesday, November 17, 2021, in person at Longaberger Alumni House on the Columbus campus and virtually via Zoom. Committee Chair Lewis Von Thaer called the meeting to order at 1:32 p.m.

Items for Discussion

- 1. Committee Chair's Remarks: Mr. Von Thaer kicked off the meeting by congratulating the team on the exciting progress that had been made in the research and innovation space at the university over the past quarter, including the groundbreaking of the Energy Advancement and Innovation Center on November 12, which drew visits by the Director of the National Science Foundation, Congresswoman Joyce Beatty and Congressmen Troy Balderson and Mike Carey. He also commented on seeing the university's new 30-second research and innovation PSA, which was developed by the University Marketing & Communications team, during a recent Ohio State football game. He reiterated the importance of research at Ohio State, not just for the additional funds that it brings into the university, but even more so for the experiences it provides our students, the outcomes and creations it produces that make the world a better place, and the entrepreneurship and jobs that it brings to the state of Ohio, which add to our economic wellbeing for the long-term future of the state.
- 2. Enterprise For Research, Innovation and Knowledge Report: Dr. Grace Wang, Executive Vice President of the Enterprise for Research, Innovation and Knowledge, shared a presentation on four strategic priorities 1) Enable curiosity-drive discoveries and creative expression; 2) Build large-scale, interdisciplinary research and innovation centers; 3) Design and develop the Innovation District; and 4) Nurture innovation and entrepreneurship. A few highlights included the induction of Professor Wondwossen Gebreyes to the National Academic of Medicine; the awarding of Catalyst funds from the President's Research Excellence Program to seven interdisciplinary teams to enable their pursuit of large-scale, high impact research that addresses emerging or existing challenges of societal importance; the groundbreaking of the Energy Advancement and Innovation Center; and the launch of the President's Buckeye Accelerator program to support Ohio State student entrepreneurs.

(See Attachment X for background information, page number XX)



Items for Action

3. <u>Approval of August 2021 Committee Meeting Minutes</u>: No changes were requested to the August 18, 2021, meeting minutes; therefore, a formal vote was not required, and the minutes were considered approved.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

It was moved by Mr. Von Thaer, and seconded by Dr. Wilkinson, that the committee recess into executive session to consider business-sensitive trade secrets required to be kept confidential by federal and state statutes.

A roll call vote was taken, and the committee voted to go into executive session with the following members present and voting: Mr. Von Thaer, Mrs. Hoeflinger, Mr. Fischer, Dr. Fujita, Dr. Wilkinson and Ms. Sobol. Mr. Heminger was not present for this vote.

The committee entered executive session at 1:54 p.m. and the meeting adjourned at 3:00 p.m.