3335-1-05 University organization.

- (A) University organization.
 - (1) For the purpose of administering the various programs of the university, there shall be established educational and administrative units within the university. All units of the university shall be established, altered, or abolished only on vote of the board of trustees.
 - (2) Procedures for recommending the establishment, alteration and abolition of educational units shall be promulgated by the university faculty or the university senate and approved by the board of trustees. Procedures for recommending the establishment, alteration and abolition of administrative units shall be promulgated by the president and approved by the board of trustees.
- (B) Basic educational organization of the university. The basic organization of the educational units of the university shall be departments, divisions, schools, academic centers, colleges, regional campuses, the graduate school, and the agricultural technical institute.
- (C) Schools, departments, and divisions; defined and located. The unit of the university for instruction, research, and extension in a defined field of learning is the school, department, or division.
- (D) Schools, departments, and divisions; administration. There shall be a chair of each department or division and a director of each school, who shall be the administrative head, respectively of the department, division or school. Each chair and director shall be appointed for a term of four years and shall be eligible for reappointment. The manner of selecting a chair or director as well as the determination of his or her authorities and responsibilities shall be fixed by rules and regulations promulgated by the board of trustees.
- (E) Academic centers; defined. The unit of the university for research, instruction, or related service which crosses department, division, school, or college boundaries is the academic center.
- (F) Colleges and graduate school; establishment. For educational administration the university shall be organized into a graduate school and fourteen colleges. The fourteen colleges are: the college of arts and sciences, the college of food, agricultural, and environmental sciences, the Max M. Fisher college of business, the college of dentistry, the college of education and human ecology, the college of engineering, the Michael E. Moritz college of law, the college of medicine, the college of nursing, the college of optometry, the college of pharmacy, the college of public health, the college of social work, and the college of veterinary medicine.
- (G) Graduate school; organization. The graduate school shall consist of: those members of the university faculty who are approved to give graduate instruction; a graduate faculty; the research and graduate council; and an administration composed of a curriculum committee, an executive committee, the dean, the secretary and such other administrative officers as are appointed pursuant to paragraph (H) of this rule.
- (H) Colleges and graduate school; administration.
 - (1) There shall be a dean of each college and of the graduate school and an executive dean of the college of arts and sciences who shall be a member of its faculty and the administrative head of the college or of the school. The major responsibility of each dean and the executive dean shall be that of providing active leadership in the promotion, direction and support of educational and research activities of the university, in the maintenance of a high level of morale among the faculty, and in the encouragement of the spirit of learning among the students. Further detailed duties of the deans of the colleges and of the graduate school, and the executive dean of the college of arts and sciences shall be fixed by rules and regulations promulgated by the board of trustees.

Each college and the graduate school shall have a secretary and may have such other administrative officers as are necessary to carry out the program of the college or of the school. These persons shall have such duties as are assigned to them by the dean of the college or of the graduate school, or by the executive dean of the college of arts and sciences.

- (I) Regional campuses. There shall be four regional campuses of the university located at Lima, Mansfield, Marion, and Newark, Ohio. The administrative head of each regional campus shall be a dean and director.
- (J) Agricultural technical institute. The unit of the university for instruction leading to the associate of applied science degree in the agricultural technologies is the agricultural technical institute (Wooster). Regarding matters of administration and operation, the agricultural technical institute shall function as a school in the college of food, agricultural, and environmental sciences. (B/T 6/7/2005, B/T 12/2/2005, B/T 7/7/2006, 7/11/2008, 2/11/2011)